Home | Newly Submitted | Random Story | Search
Categories | Titles | Members | Forum Boards | Log In


Reviews for Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts




(1) 2 [Next]  LAST»»


CharmedForce (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
Most of the art this go-round have been manips, but I am pleased to see hand made art like this. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Yep, I painted it!
2008/10/29 - 00:58

rhiannonofthemoon (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
Unique choice of subject!  I don't think I've seen it done yet.  Beautifully done.  :)

Author's Response: Thank you.
2008/10/28 - 23:28

Electryone (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
I like your painting, very beautiful. I also like the topic--making a friend at a new job really makes it so much better, I wouldn't have been able to get through my first year of teaching without my friendly coworkers!



Author's Response: Thank you very much.
2008/10/28 - 07:01

phoenix (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
I love that you combined these two prompts. The ladies look wonderful and I love the castle in the background.

Author's Response: Thanks. It was fun trying acrylics for the first time - well not since high school.
2008/10/19 - 11:05

StormySkize (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
Very nicely done.

Author's Response: Thank you.
2008/10/10 - 20:29

pookah (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
I love this!  you have caught Pomona's happiness in your painting.  also MInerva's relative solemnity.  and the  movement of the young ladies, and i love the touch of the heavier gloves Pomona wears. 

I sure wish i could draw and paint!  Good on you!

Author's Response: Pookah, thank you so very much! You actually hit on all the little touches that I really tried to put in there. I wanted Pomona's gloves to look biger without making them look cartoonish - and toyed with actually doing it. I'm glad I did and that it worked out so well.

Give a go at art.
If at first you have a hard time, trace and color, or do a outline trace and practice copying what you have. It just takes practice and loads of eracers at first!

Keep in mind, Picasso's art and how Monet painted people! Picasso used triangles and curves, and shapes! Monet simply made a gerneral shape and dotted in whatever color he wanted - no detail! Ever see his stuff up really really close? So try.
2008/09/15 - 00:33

elsolel (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
What's your medium?  The picture is really lovely.

Author's Response: This was painted with acrylic paint and dry brushed. The sheen and texture didn't come through in the scan, unfortunately, but thte colors did. Thank you for the nice compliment, it very much appreciated.
2008/09/14 - 08:59

diana_hawthorne (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
Loved it!  Great job!

Author's Response: I'm so flatered that you did. Thank you very much for the compliment.
2008/09/11 - 07:55

WriterMerrin (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
I love the scenery in the background, especialy the castle.  Their outfits are sweet, especially McGonagall's hat.  I like the colors you put them in.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm flattered that you liked the way I deplicted them. I had loads of fun painting it. Thnak you so much for the compliments.
2008/09/11 - 05:30

tinytexans (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
That's fantastic! And I love your little description!

Author's Response: Thank you very much.
2008/09/10 - 18:57

sunny33 (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
Lovely painting!

Author's Response: Thank you very much.
2008/09/09 - 04:52

debjunk (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
Their faces showed that they were enjoying each other's company.  Very nice.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. That was what I wanted to come across.
2008/09/08 - 22:04

beaweasley2 (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
Really nice.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.
2008/09/08 - 19:24

Arabella Bloodgood (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
Very nicely done.  Beautiful

Author's Response: Thank you. I tried acrylics. Haven't used them since I was a kid.
2008/09/08 - 19:13

cocoachristy (Signed )1: Making Friends - First Year At Hogwarts
Very lovely, very bright. This is awesome!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. This is my first painting in a really long time.
2008/09/08 - 17:43

(1) 2 [Next]  LAST»»

Please Leave a Review


Screenreader Users and Text-Based Browsers, Click Here to Leave a Review



Writers' Resource | Beta Directory | Submission Rules | Links & Affiliations | Help
Terms of Use | Disclaimer | About Us | Support TPP

Click to join thepetulantpoetess Chatzy Group TPP LJ Community

The Patronus skin was created especially for The Petulant Poetess by TarahFae.