Home | Newly Submitted | Random Story | Search
Categories | Titles | Members | Forum Boards | Log In


Reviews for Is a Virtue




(1) 2 3 4 [Next]  LAST»»


oohdear (Signed )1: LadyTuesday – Asteroid Beater, kittyperry – Comet Chaser
awesome, really well done
2010/01/26 - 23:23

HBAR (Signed )3: astopperindeath - Black Hole Chaser, kittylefish - Supernova Seeker
What a sweet ending.  I like the use of Eileen/Albus and James/Lily looking in on our couple.  Really nicely done.  Good luck to you in this final round.

HBAR's response: Oh, I neglected to mention how much I like this:

That opportunity to … ruin someone

I remember feeling that exact sentiment with my first child.  With the second, I was so busy ruining the first,  that I didn't have time to worry!  So I can completely sympathize... but he will be fine :)

Author's Response: thanks so much for the lovely review, HBAR.  the line you like so much was written by my dear co-writer.  i like it a lot, too :)  ~astopperindeath

Thank you for supporting Team Venus!
2010/01/26 - 19:09

Jinxie (Signed )3: astopperindeath - Black Hole Chaser, kittylefish - Supernova Seeker
Nicely ended.  Interesting perspective watching through finding out until after she was born.

Author's Response: i'm glad you enjoyed it! :)  ~astopperindeath

Thank you for supporting Team Venus!
2010/01/26 - 15:00

karelia (Signed )3: astopperindeath - Black Hole Chaser, kittylefish - Supernova Seeker
What a lovely conclusion to a lovely story!

Author's Response: thanks, lady k :).  i'm so glad you enjoyed it!  ~astopperindeath

Thank you for supporting Team Venus!
2010/01/26 - 12:50

karelia (Signed )2: Clairvoyant - Meteoroid Beater & Livvy6 - Gravity Keeper
Love, love, love the scene with Lucius and Narcissa! *applauds*
2010/01/26 - 12:49

karelia (Signed )1: LadyTuesday – Asteroid Beater, kittyperry – Comet Chaser
Lovely, lovely start of the sequel!
2010/01/26 - 12:47

apisa_b (Signed )3: astopperindeath - Black Hole Chaser, kittylefish - Supernova Seeker
This chapter is touching in so many ways. First Severus realisation that he doesn't have to repeat his father's mistakes, then the afterlife scenes (I first thought they were paintings ...) - but what really got me unhooked was the baby-smell being part of this Amortentia experience.

Well done, Team Venus, really well done!

Author's Response: aww, thank you so much for such a wonderful review!  i'm so glad you enjoyed it!  ~astopperindeath

Thank you for supporting Team Venus!
2010/01/26 - 12:03

isalie (Signed )3: astopperindeath - Black Hole Chaser, kittylefish - Supernova Seeker
"Nothing you tell me can be as bad as all this uncertainty and wondering."

Aww, that is something I'd so much like to hear in rl! It's the most diplomatic, supporting and honest version of "Just say it!" that I have ever read - or heard, for that matter. Just perfect, I'll make that read the hubby.

And furthermore that first part could totally stand on its own: It would make a lovely, little, comforting drabble. *sigh*

The second part could make me depressed for days - if I ever could be truly depressed, let alone for days.
To live forever is a sad thought in general - being dead forever - albeit very conscious -  is even worse!
I feel for Eileen. And wonder what she has been doing all these years? They might have met before up there (or wherever...), but oviously they don't talk often. Made we wonder and worry whether she's lonely all the time. *represses a sniff*

And another thing: How truly terrifying is the perspective of meeting all the people you loathed and loved and to be around them forever? Old feelings that would come up - and new ones? (Would I like to meet the first - and BIG - love of my late hubby?! Knowing that she has seen him change and become a hero and all? And she's probably even at a young age! Well, no..,I'd rather go to hell - oh wait, that is hell....)

And the last part was just cute! You have won my heart with that Amortentia thing.
And it was also funny.
I liked " In a less-than-logical move on his part, he had Floo’d for Molly Weasley" most, because it so nonchalantly sneaked in the information that they must be on really good terms with each other (albeit at least one part might deny that...) - plus the utter hilariousness of the headlessChicken!Snape!

Er, in short: I liked it very much. I got a little panicky about the afterlife part - but I really, truly liked it!
It was well written, sweet and something somewhat unusual.
Well done; a worthy end to this story.


PS: OK, this was rather long - even for one of my reviews. And it probably contains large amounts of stuff not supposed to be part of a review. I apologize for the flood of words.



Author's Response: hey isalie :)  i've always told you i love your reviews, because they always tell us EXACTLY what you're thinking.  thanks for all of the kind words!  and you're right--the first section was awesome.  kittylefish is extraordinarily good at writing short, powerful language!  ~astopperindeath

Thank you for supporting Team Venus!

Author's Response: hi, hon!  you fell in stopper's section, but i had to thank you for this lovely review, too.  in my book, there's no such thing as too long of a review.   i'm glad you liked my first section.  i loved stopper's line about the amortentia, too. 

and - don't think too hard about the dead folks up there watching - after all, it was just a literary device, lol!  ;)
2010/01/26 - 08:42

blue artemis (Signed )3: astopperindeath - Black Hole Chaser, kittylefish - Supernova Seeker
That was quite sweet.

Author's Response: thanks!  ~astopperindeath

Thank you for supporting Team Venus!
2010/01/25 - 21:42

beaweasley2 (Signed )3: astopperindeath - Black Hole Chaser, kittylefish - Supernova Seeker
Oh, I sooo loved his stunned reation to the news! Hermione hardly gave him any time to sort out his thoughts or recover from the shock.

Eileen's thoughts on the child were so endearing. It's good that she still watches over Seerus in death, since she wasn't able to do much in life. Albus' words are so true, Severus will do jsut fine. (even if he did run to Molly when Hermione's water broke and not a Healer.  I forsee that happening a lot in the next few years! )

I didn't understand why Lily was watching over Severus or why James was... but James deserved every smack Lily gave him -- the git.

Good story ladies.  good luck in the voting.

Author's Response: lily was watching over severus because he had been her son's protector and her friend.  thanks for the review. glad you enjoyed it. ~astopperindeath

Thank you for supporting Team Venus!
2010/01/25 - 21:03

gersknightlady (Signed )3: astopperindeath - Black Hole Chaser, kittylefish - Supernova Seeker

Very much enjoyed that.  Really liked the comversation between the two dead "couples", nice touch.



Author's Response: thanks!  ~astopperindeath

Thank you for supporting Team Venus!
2010/01/25 - 16:24

sregner (Signed )2: Clairvoyant - Meteoroid Beater & Livvy6 - Gravity Keeper
How wonderful to hear all the love stories...well done

Author's Response: Thank you so much!
Livvy
2010/01/25 - 16:10

phoenix writing (Signed )3: astopperindeath - Black Hole Chaser, kittylefish - Supernova Seeker
Severus is such a boy, lol; I guessed she was pregnant straight from the emotional outbursts.  :D

It was nice to see the progression of Severus getting his head straightened out and realizing that they can be a better family than his own had been.

I want to know how much time Lily and James spend looking down at Severus.  ;)  James totally seems like the sort of guy who would try to get a rise out of Lily all the time even when they're spending eternity together.  I like the suggestion that Hermione and Severus were the ones who care most about Harry.

It was a lovely glimpse of Severus as a father (and I loved his panicked calling of Molly rather than a healer).  It makes me want to see glimpses of Amanda growing up.  Thanks for sharing.  ^_^

Author's Response: hey phoenix!  thanks for leaving us such a great review!  i love long reviews!  i'm glad you enjoyed the story.  ~astopperindeath

Thank you for supporting Team Venus!
2010/01/25 - 15:34

tonksinger (Signed )3: astopperindeath - Black Hole Chaser, kittylefish - Supernova Seeker
I love Severus' tenderness towards his child. It's quite touching. A lovely ending to your original story, Venus!

Author's Response: thanks, tonksie!  i'm so glad you enjoyed it!  ~astopperindeath

Thank you for supporting Team Venus!
2010/01/25 - 14:42

tonksinger (Signed )2: Clairvoyant - Meteoroid Beater & Livvy6 - Gravity Keeper
I love these insights into the lives of the other couples--so sweet and romantic!

Author's Response: Thank you!
Livvy
2010/01/25 - 14:38

(1) 2 3 4 [Next]  LAST»»

Please Leave a Review


Screenreader Users and Text-Based Browsers, Click Here to Leave a Review



Writers' Resource | Beta Directory | Submission Rules | Links & Affiliations | Help
Terms of Use | Disclaimer | About Us | Support TPP

Click to join thepetulantpoetess Chatzy Group TPP LJ Community

The Patronus skin was created especially for The Petulant Poetess by TarahFae.