Home | Newly Submitted | Random Story | Search
Categories | Titles | Members | Forum Boards | Log In


Reviews for Where Troubles Melt Like Lemon Drops




(1) 2 [Next]  LAST»»


sweetflag (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
Oh this was really delightful.  I loved the pink cardigan reference.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I thoroughly enjoy the 'I'm melting' scene in the original illustrations... I think Umbridge could easily pass for the Wicked Witch of the West.
2011/10/18 - 06:43

Mazzy (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
Yes, being thrown into the Wizard of Oz would certainly be an "extremely awkward situation." And I like how it was Harry that needed brains. lol

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Yes, the gifts in Oz are tricky, since they're qualities each character doesn't think they possess (but in reality, they've had it in them all along). So Neville with courage was obviously right on the money, but sorting out brains and heart between Harry and Ron? Ron got heart for returning to them in DH, and Harry got brains for his decisions at King's Cross and really throughout all of that last year.
2011/10/16 - 03:39

Prof M McGonagall (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
Cute crossover and excellent use of the illustrations!  I really enjoyed the parallels you brought out in the two literary universes.

Author's Response: Thanks! Things do line up fairly well, don't they? I particularly like Neville as the Cowardly Lion, who eventually shows his stripes as the king of the forest.
2011/10/15 - 19:54

moiramountain (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
Terrribly clever - come to think of it, all of us in fandom probably read that wonderful old tale and dreamed of the world of magic, even when we were wee small things.... and now, here we are, visiting our own Land of Oz whenver it suits us !!

Author's Response: Sentimental things from childhood hold such a nostalgic sway over our hearts. I was happy to see so many elements lining up between these worlds (Neville looking for courage, Albus with less power than we previously thought, stepping back to allow the kids to work, Hermione freeing the house-elves). There are many more than just didn't fit into 499 words! Thanks so much for your response.
2011/10/15 - 11:02

debjunk (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
LoL, nice take on the prompt.

Author's Response: Thank you!
2011/10/15 - 00:22

sevibaby (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
This was really cute.  Good job.

Author's Response: Thanks very much!
2011/10/14 - 11:49

HermioneJeanSnape (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
Nice take on the Wizard of Oz. Sorry it was so brief, though.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, I hit 499 words exactly and wish I had 500 more. I think it'd be a fun story to write... Flying monkeys resembling Draco and other members of the Inquisitorial Squad made it into the first draft, but were cut for space.
2011/10/14 - 11:14

nagandsev (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
Brilliant & so sweet! Thank you for all of the creativity and extra special sweet effort to treat ud readers to something very innovative yet touchingly sentimental!

Author's Response: Thanks very much, nagandsev! Yes, with a prompt like "weather" and "travelers," Oz just seemed right. The real question was which year to set it in and who to cast as the villain... and Voldemort never worked for me as the Wicked Witch, so I was happy to slide Umbridge into place. (She even looks right in the illustrations!) This was one last (relatively) innocent brush with danger for them before everything began to fall apart.
2011/10/14 - 04:30

lady_rhian (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
I adore The Wizard of Oz and was delighted to find it here. Nice recasting (Dolores! Perfect!); lovely use of images.

Author's Response: Thanks! I love it, too, and was happy to see so many elements from the two worlds lining up. (I do like Dolores as the Witch, although Neville looking for courage and toads ranks pretty high for me as well. And Albus.)
2011/10/14 - 01:16

nata (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
Incredibly sweet. Including the illustrations made it read like a lovely bed-time story for a baby. Innocent, yet adventurous.

Author's Response: Thank you! When I settled on Oz, the real question was when to set it and who to cast as the villain. Voldemort never seemed right, and fifth year is just before everything falls apart completely, so it allowed a relatively innocent brush with danger and a hopeful look at the much bigger tempest to come. 

nata's response: You certainly achieved that goal. Your pink villain was a great choice and her incorporation carried the exact amount of danger the story asked for. It was perfect.
2011/10/14 - 00:57

marianne le fey (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops

What a wonderful take on the prompt!

And how much do I adore Neville as the round faced Cowardly Lion!

(Genius!)



Author's Response: The round-faced Cowardly Lion chasing toads, no less! I do hope he finds Trevor.

(Thanks!)
2011/10/14 - 00:40

MuseAmusant (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops

Now that was a damn cute and clever use of the prompt. Umbridge as the Wicked Witch of the West was perfect casting. Fabulous!



Author's Response: Thanks! I do like Umbridge as the Wicked Witch of the West - even the sketch of her melting looks right in my mind. 

I also like Dumbledore as the Great and Powerful Wizard, who, although powerful, isn't quite as capable as everyone believes him to be, and who steps aside in the end to allow Dorothy and her friends set things to right. That one seemed quite fitting.
2011/10/13 - 22:16

blue artemis (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
Nicely done!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!
2011/10/13 - 21:48

ofankoma (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
'All was well,' indeed. These two worlds really do line up well, don't they? Hermione gets to free the house-elves... er... Munchkins, Dumbledore's a leader who ultimately doesn't have as much power as people thought, and McGonagall... a Scottish woman... as the Good Witch of the North? Also, thanks for sending Hermione back, safe with the knowledge that the brains, heart, and courage of her friends would (eventually) win the day.

Author's Response: Oh, I was thrilled that I could let Hermione free the house-elves. Quirrell could almost be cast as the Wicked Witch of the East, but it didn't line up right there (and I ran out of words!), so that idea was scrapped early on.
2011/10/13 - 21:32

Aurette (Signed )1: Away Above the Chimney Tops
Lovely and sweet, and great use of art...

Author's Response: Thanks! Now if only Toto looked a bit more like a cat...
2011/10/13 - 21:30

(1) 2 [Next]  LAST»»

Please Leave a Review


Screenreader Users and Text-Based Browsers, Click Here to Leave a Review



Writers' Resource | Beta Directory | Submission Rules | Links & Affiliations | Help
Terms of Use | Disclaimer | About Us | Support TPP

Click to join thepetulantpoetess Chatzy Group TPP LJ Community

The Patronus skin was created especially for The Petulant Poetess by TarahFae.