Home | Newly Submitted | Random Story | Search
Categories | Titles | Members | Forum Boards | Log In


Reviews for How We Grew Up




(1) 2 [Next]  LAST»»


Pieredaes\' Muse (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
This was absolutely haunting...

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Pieredae! I'll confess... I was in the midst of a T.S. Eliot binge when I wrote this one, so 'The Hollow Men' was ringing in my ears at the time. The early years of Albus are fascinating and terribly tragic.
2011/12/13 - 13:05

morgaine_dulac (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
No wonder the man turned into a manipulative puppetmaster. Great work! Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: No kidding! He learnt very, very quickly that he had to rely on himself to get things done. I also think he also learnt to doubt everyone around him and keep them at arm's length. (Alone in a crowd, you know?) Thanks for your review!
2011/10/24 - 13:47

Owlbait (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
oooh, ~shivers~.  Learnt secrecy at their mother's knee indeed.

Author's Response: Yes, that line from Ab makes you wonder... Exactly what kinds of secrets did those children figure out their mother was keeping? Which lies was she telling? Is it just this, or is there more?
2011/10/23 - 05:24

debjunk (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
Wow, what a background story!  Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.
2011/10/22 - 16:44

sweetflag (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
Well, that was exquisite.  There was so much to draw from it, so much to ponder and extrapolate.  Excellent!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, sweetflag. Yes, an incident in youth has ramifications in later years. Thanks for your review.
2011/10/22 - 07:22

Phyllidia (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
Good job. Well written. Painful knowing what is too come. I thought the realization that his mother was reading letters she had written particularly heartbreaking.

Author's Response: Thank you, Phyllidia. Yes, it's terrible knowing what's about to happen next. The Dumbledores' story is not a happy one. Thank you for your review.
2011/10/21 - 22:19

ofankoma (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
I'm not particularly sympathetic to Dumbledore, but these early years do seem to explain his actions, don't they? Losing his father right before Hogwarts, then losing the rest of his family as soon as he's about to embark on the world? It's terrible to see him assume the role as the head of the house at such a young age. And we know he'll fail and his sister will die... how horrible.

Author's Response: Thank you, ofankoma. No, I'm sympathetic to Dumbledore as an adult, either. He asks terrible things of both Harry and Severus. His younger years (and these few months) are just horrific, and when his world falls apart after the incident with Ariana and Grindelwald, he never builds a close relationship again. It's an isolated life for Albus. Thank you for your review.

ofankoma's response: (not sympathetic)

Author's Response: Oops! No, not sympathetic.
2011/10/21 - 17:01

Aurette (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
This was very well written.  A painful look at a terribly dysfunctional family.

Author's Response: Thank you, Aurette. Yes, the Dumbledores are a textbook case of dysfunction. It's no wonder Albus would isolate himself from close relationships in his later years.
2011/10/21 - 15:57

MuseAmusant (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
Very well-written backstory for the Dumbledores, but devastating all the same. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you, MuseAmant. The Dumbledores' story is a series of tragedies, isn't it? Thank you for your review.
2011/10/21 - 15:27

nata (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
Heartbreaking. As little sympathy as I have for Harry-era Dumbledore, his youth and your portrayal of it was very empathic. Desperate situations that explain a lot. 

Author's Response: Thank you, nata. I agree with you on older Dumbledore, but his younger years are just horrific. I think these 'desperate situations,' as you say, explain why he isolated himself so much as an adult.
2011/10/21 - 11:22

marianne le fey (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
Oh, that is just so sad! I never like to think about what happened to those inside Azkaban - I love how you initially think his father is sitting there in silent disapproval, until you realise the awful truth.

Author's Response: Thank you, marianne. If we take Sirius at his word, no-one in Azkaban kept their sanity for long. I don't know how a mother could tell her children that, so this is one possible solution for Kendra. Thank you for your review.
2011/10/21 - 06:56

nagandsev (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
Mystery writer, I knew immediately the who, what, when & where - your work is so precise/concise, one immedaitely is drawn into the immediate time & situation of the story (just meant that you can trust your work to stand clearly & powerfully, as is, without all the wonderful footnotes if you wish...) Poignant & powerful - this brought tears to my eyes, and I'm usually quite hardened towards Dumbledore, but the power of your storyline made me *feel* for him in a way I've always been avoiding! Wonderful work!

Author's Response: Thank you, nagandsev. I'm similarly hardened towards Dumbledore - it's hard not to be, seeing what he put Harry and Severus through over the years - but his early years are tragic. So much happens in just a few months, and it's all about the relationships with people he loves being destroyed. It's no surprise he isolates himself so much in his later years. (The notes? Gone!)
2011/10/21 - 01:46

Subversa (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
Ah, I like this!  Terrific grasp of canon and of history, as well.  I could see the sad spectacle of Dumbledore pere, and perhaps for the first time, you forced me to see Albus as an 18 year old with no more sense than Harry had when he killed Voldemort.  I've never had much compassion for boy!Albus, but you've given me a glimpse.  Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you, Subversa. DH, in my mind, gives us enough material to both despise Dumbledore for his choices as an adult and feel great compassion for the young man he once was. In the span of a few months, he becomes an adult, his family is destroyed, and in the midst of it all, he falls in love with someone who turns out to be evil. It's no wonder he isolates himself so much later in life.
2011/10/20 - 22:49

sunny33 (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
Nice backstory but very sad. :)

Author's Response: Thanks. Yes, the Dumbledores' story is not a happy one.
2011/10/20 - 21:17

HBAR (Signed )1: Secrets and Lies
In fanfic we get so used to Dumbledore being evil, or meddling, or some sort of antagonist, that we forget that he has been a victim as well.  And this point is early on in his story.  Poor guy has only seen that beginnings of what he has in store.  Nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you. Yes, I  agree that we're right in looking beyond the image of the perfect, grandfatherly man to see the meddling antagonist, but Dumbledore's no easy villain, either. This summer with Kendra and Ariana's deaths must have been horrific for Albus, and it catapulted him into an isolated, lonely life.
2011/10/20 - 21:16

(1) 2 [Next]  LAST»»

Please Leave a Review


Screenreader Users and Text-Based Browsers, Click Here to Leave a Review



Writers' Resource | Beta Directory | Submission Rules | Links & Affiliations | Help
Terms of Use | Disclaimer | About Us | Support TPP

Click to join thepetulantpoetess Chatzy Group TPP LJ Community

The Patronus skin was created especially for The Petulant Poetess by TarahFae.